Writer in Residence

Malia Collins is Idaho’s current Writer in Residence. The Idaho Writer in Residence represents the highest literary recognition in the state and those who hold the position embody exceptional quality in their field. As part of her appointment Collins travels throughout the state to conduct readings and talk about craft; she is available to participate in events and lead discussions at libraries, schools, community centers and for other lit-loving organizations and groups.

Would your community or group like to host Idaho’s Writer in Residence? Contact Jocelyn Robertson, Director of Literature, for more information.

Collins is an Assistant Professor of English and Creative Writing at the College of Western Idaho, has published short stories, essays, and two Hawaiian children’s books, and is currently working on a collection of essays.

Follow along with Malia’s pandemic pen pal writing project, Writers in Residences, here.