Governor C.L. “Butch” Otter and First Lady Lori Otter have selected the recipients of the 2018 Governor’s Awards in the Arts. The biennial awards, established in 1970 by the Idaho Commission on the Arts, bring recognition to Idaho’s exceptional artists, arts organizations, and arts supporters. Governor Otter and Idaho First Lady Lori Otter, expressed their appreciation to this year’s recipients as stewards of Idaho culture and artistic expression. “It is important that we take time out to celebrate those who spur the creative genius that lives in all of us. We honor their commitment, their passion and the selfless hours they spend teaching our children and ensuring that the arts continue to thrive in our great state.”

The recipients are:

Excellence in the Arts

Mark Neiwirth, pianist and educator, Pocatello

Diane Raptosh, writer and educator, Boise

Excellence in Folk and Traditional Arts

Mariachi Sol de Acapulco, ensemble, Caldwell

Jeff Minor, rawhide braider, silver engraver, saddlemaker, Salmon

Support of the Arts

Surel’s Place, arts organization, Garden City

Support of Arts Education

David Groth, retired 5th grade teacher, Coeur d’Alene

Alexa Stanger, museum educator, Idaho Falls

Excellence in Arts Administration

Kristin Poole, arts administrator, Ketchum

Carolyn White, arts administrator, Twin Falls

Special Commendations

Boise Music Week, arts organization, Boise

Dan Looney, visual artist, Meridian

Nominations are solicited from the public, reviewed by Commissioners and then presented to the Governor for his independent decision. Silver award medallions, designed by Idaho artist Elizabeth Wolf, will be presented to the recipients by Governor Butch Otter and First Lady Lori Otter. The presentation ceremony will be held in the Idaho State Capitol rotunda, 2nd floor, 1:30 – 3 p.m., on Thursday, November 8, 2018. The event is free and the public is invited.

More information about the awards can be found here.