All Annual Grant Opportunities Applications due January 31
Experience Idaho Arts
Anika Smulovitz, In Honor of the Matriarchs (Torah pointer), 2012
Experience Idaho Arts
Rawhide braiding. Image by Ilona McCarty, Open View Photography
Experience Idaho Arts
Contra dance lessons in Pocatello
Meet the Neighbors
Explore the work of Fellowship recipients, folk and traditional artists, and arts organizations making Idaho great.
Let's have a look.
Loading new locations


Governor’s Award in the Arts

The 2018 Governor’s Awards in the Arts recipients were honored in an afternoon ceremony held at the Idaho State Capitol on November 8, 2018. The event featured Opera Idaho soprano Emily Hansen singing America the Beautiful and a presentation by Mariachi Sol de Acapulco. Girl Scout Troop 521 from Eagle presented the colors and led the Pledge of Allegiance. Awardees were bestowed a silver medallion, engraved with the recipient’s name on the reverse.

Governor Otter and Idaho First Lady Lori Otter, who selected the recipients, expressed their appreciation to the awardees as stewards of Idaho culture and artistic expression, “It is important that we take time out to celebrate those who spur the creative genius that lives in all of us. We honor their commitment, their passion and the selfless hours they spend teaching our children and ensuring that the arts continue to thrive in our great state.”

The biennial awards, established in 1970 by the Idaho Commission on the Arts, bring recognition to Idaho’s exceptional artists, arts organizations, and arts supporters.

2018 awardees
Excellence in the Arts
Mark Neiwirth — Pocatello
Diane Raptosh — Boise
Excellence in Folk and Traditional Arts
Mariachi Sol de Acapulco — Caldwell
Jeff Minor — Salmon
Support of the Arts
Surel’s Place — Garden City
Support of Arts Education
David Groth — Coeur d’Alene
Alexa Stanger — Idaho Falls
Excellence in Arts Administration
Kristin Poole — Ketchum
Carolyn White — Twin Falls
Special Commendation
Boise Music Week — Boise
Dan Looney — Meridian

Nominations for 2018 have closed. The next nomination period will be in 2020.

Award History
Past Recipients & Photos